Being a better father?

For some reason I have been thinking about my report card as a father.  I was listening to something today talking about how to help your kid love themself.  It’s different then self-confidence more like an internal thing.  They had some good advice like how to give praise so they feel like it is more of a self accomplishment.

ie.  Instead of saying “I am proud of you for …” you say something like “Way to go.  You should be proud of yourself.  You accomplished this great feat.”

Who would have known something tricky like that?  Apparently my wife does.  Maybe it helps having all those education classes. 

Then I was talking to a good friend about that book “The Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother.”  You know the book where the mother takes perfectionism to a new level with her daughter.  Sure I don’t plan on raising my daughter that way but I am sure I am way to soft of my little girl.

ie.  “Okay Sabrina we are only going to read one more book before it is time to go to bed.” So we read the book but then when I set her down to go say her prayers she runs and grabs another book.  She looks up at me with those big eyes and I end up reading one more book. 

So what would my grad be as a dad?  Who knows.  If I ask Sabrina I imagine I would get an A+.  Why an A+?  Because I am her favorite person in the world.  Also because I give in to some of her terrorist demands. 

Do I do good things?  Of course.  I sing her silly songs with her.  Although she did tell me to be quiet when a Taylor Swift song came on.  She didn’t want me to sing it.  Apparently that was her job.  I play games with her and act goofy. 

Do I have to work on things?  Of course.  Will I list them here?  Nope.  I don’t have that much time to type everything. 

So what is my plan?  I plan on sticking with what is working.  Sabrina seems like a great little girl.  She seems to know that she is loved.  Just this morning after I kissed my wife she needed a kiss too.  I am pretty sure I had already kissed her once but who am I to argue.  She is smart as a whip.  Is learning the things she should at her age. 

If it ain’t broken don’t fix it probably isn’t the best strategy.  But my wife knows about a 100 times more stuff about kids then I do.  so I am sure if I am doing something too wrong she will let me know.  That or Sabrina will.

Wish me luck.

I will need it.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

