Yes I admit I am a bad friend.

My twenty year reunion is coming up this summer.  The first question i usually get asked is…how is someone so young and vibrant having a twenty year reunion?  The second question is are you going?

Am I going to my twenty year reunion?  Probably not.  Why you may ask?  There really isn’t anyone I am still in contact with.  No one I really want to see (if you are from my graduating class and are offended sorry about that).  So am I a bad friend for not having kept in contact with my high school friends?

My mother has always said that your true friends are the ones you meet in college.  I have to say I do agree with this statement.  Well at least to some degree.  When I envision people who are my friends I do picture some people from college but am I a good friend to them?

One of my great friends from college had her first child in January of 2010.  Have I seen her child?  Nope.  Do I feel bad about that?  Sure.  We talk about getting together all the time but these get togethers are few and far in between.

I have another friend who has had his second child who I have never meet.

Another friend who is married and I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting her husband.

Yes I know I am shaking my head too.  I know I should do more.  Make a stronger effort.  Be a better friend.

Still I know if you ask any of the three friends mentioned above if I am their friend they would say yes.  that they know if they were in need and asked anything of me I would make it happen.  So maybe I am not a bad friend.  A bit of a lazy friend.

Still if it wasn’t for technology I wouldn’t be in contact with any of my friends.  Yeah technology.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

