It felt like I was cheating.

So yesterday was the NBA draft.  I talked my wife into going with me to Iggy’s to watch it.  (Yes I know I have an awesome wife).  Iggy’s was as crowded as I had ever seen it on a Thursday night at it was barely 5:30.  So we took our seats and I made my wife move so I had the better view of the big screen. 

We watched the Jazz pick Kanter and I was actually happy for the Jazz.  Seemed like a solid pick for them.  I thought they might go Knight but he seemed like a bit of a reach at 3 (he fell to 8 so maybe I was right).  Still the crowd didn’t really react to the pick.

It was then I realized what the crowd was there for.  They were there for Jimmer.  They wanted to see him and see him go to the Jazz.  I found myself rooting for the Jazz to get him.  Being a Laker fan when I found myself rooting for the Jazz it felt very very very weird. 

The first 7 picks and there were Knight and Kimba were still on the board and expected to go in front of Jimmer I was thinking there was a chance.  I started rooting for the Jazz even more.  It went against every grain in my body to route for the Jazz.  I felt like I was cheating on the Lakers.  I felt dirty.

Still the Lakers had no first round pick so I decided to cheating for an hour wouldn’t be too bad.  The Lakers would forgive me.  So pick 8 went Knight.  Pick 9 went Kimba.  Pick 10 went Jimmer.  Leaving the Jazz heartbroken at pick number 12.

When Jimmer went at 10 there was an audible moan.  People had stopped working and eating because the thought was Jimmer could be picked at 10.  They were right.  And the Iggy’s crowd was distraught. 

Also with Jimmer gone I was free to go back to my true love of the Lakers and leave the cheap Jazz where I found them.  Sorry Jazz.  I  now know what it feels like to be a Jazz fan.  Build up some hope and then get your hopes crushed by a another team (often from California).

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

