How did my sister beat me to the punch?

Okay for those of you who don’t know I am a bit of an amateur writer.  Amateur because I have never made any money for writing.  I have written three books but I am positive they all need quite a lot of editing so I haven’t submitted them to anyone (other than a few friends just for their opinions on the book).  So why am I babbling about all this?  Last night I found out that my sister had written a book and submitted a query to a publisher.

For those of you who don’t know a query is (usually) a one page summary of your book.  Or better yet it is  you books resume.  So my sister wrote a book and submitted it to a publisher to get printed.  Sure her book is more altruistic than mine.  Her book is a how to be a better parent book.  She wrote it more as a tribute or thank you to her mother (yes I know my mother too) for how she (yes and me too) was raised.  My books are all pure fiction and I only wrote them to hopefully make some money.  So yes my sister beat me to the punch.

So last night when I got the bad news that she is a step ahead of me I decided to transfer her book onto my kindle and read the competition.  I pulled up the book and read through the night (okay till 10:30 but that is late for this old man).  Luckily my wife was reading ‘The Hunger Games’ and wanted some reading time.

I must admit my sisters book is pretty good.  I laughed out loud a couple of times.  Remembered most of the stories that she used and enjoyed it quite throughly.  So now I am jealous as well as behind my sister.  When did she become a writer?  Although she might be saying when did I become a writer?  I am one of the worst spellers in the world and got like a 16 on my english portion of the ACT.

So I will say congratulation to my sister for her well written and entertaining book.  Heres hoping that it gets published so we can see the family have a published book.  But just so you know I am planning on having a my name on a published book sometime.  So you may have beat me to the punch today but we will see who gets in the last blow.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

