Is Harry Potter Over?

I am sitting in my living room at six in the morning and wondering if Harry Potter is truly over.  Why am I up at six you may ask?  I just got back from the three a.m. showing of Harry Potter.  The final movie of this epic series.

Harry Potter has been a part of people’s lives for the for a long time.  I admit I was not one of the original Harry Potter fans.  I actually remember the first time I heard the name Harry Potter.  I was watching Jeopardy and it was middle school week.  I have to say I was doing quite well at answering the questions until I got to a column titled Harry Potter (in might have been Hogwarts but lets  say it was Harry Potter).  Needless to say I was 0 for 5 but all 3 kids were ringing in like crazy.

After this Jeopardy experience I needed to see what Harry Potter was all about.  The first 3 books were already released so i bought the first one.  Needless to say I was hooked and bought books 2 and 3 quickly thereafter.  I was hooked and desperately waiting for book 4.

Books 4 thru 7 I bought at the release parties and read through the night to be one of the first ones finished.  I admit I was a bigger fan of the books then the movies so after finishing book 7 I asked myself the question “Is Harry Potter Over?”

I have tried to fill the Harry Potter slot with other books and series as they came along.  None had the same impact.  I even read the James Potter books hoping that something that shared the same world might give me the Harry Potter fix I was looking for.  Closer but still not the same.

Is Harry Potter a once in a lifetime series?  Will another book come out that will not only have young people reading but have them begging their parents to take them to the book store and buy the next book?  It is hard to imagine there will be another book like this.  The idea of a book launch party before Harry Potter seemed laughable to me.

So back to the question.  “Is Harry Potter Over?”  I would say yes but now my daughter is up and bugging me for pancakes and I think she has no idea who Harry Potter is.  Right now her life is Dora, Elmo, Special Agent Oso, Mickey Mouse, and Disney Princesses.  Still she loves books.  She loves to read (well be read to) and one day she will be asking me what book she should read.

It will be that day say ten years from now when I will look down at my daughter and say “How about Harry Potter?”  She will probably give me a look but accept my recommendation.  That is when the world of Harry Potter will come alive again.  I will be able to see Harry through my daughters eyes.

So the answer to the question of the day is “No!”  Harry Potter will never die.  He will be passed down from father to daughter or mother to son or even sibling to sibling.

Long live Harry Potter.  Long live Harry Potter inside all of us.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

