Nickel of Death or just Pain

Yesterday I was just relaxing at work and I get a call from my wife.  That alone is an oddity in itself.  My wife and I like to text each other vs phone calls.  It was that way when we were dating.  Then the sound of my wife’s voice makes me worry.

My wife starts to tell me a story about how our lovely little daughter has swallowed something and is choking and turning blue.  My wife has done the Heimlich manuever and Sabrina is breathing some but nothing came up.  She is couching and wheezing but something still seems to be lodged in her throat.  she is loading her up in the car and headed to the emergency room.

Luckily my work is on the way to the emergency room.  There I am standing by the door waiting for my wife to bring my choking daughter to me.  What goes through a father’s head as he is waiting?  He worries is what he does.  He worries for his little girl and the pain she might be feeling.  He worries about his wife and feelings that must be pounding through her right now.  Good thing I am bald because I might have lost some hair.

In minutes my wife pulls up and I rush out to the car and see my little girl smiling and waving at me.  Relief.  Mucho relief.  We shift from driving to the ER to driving to the pediatrician.  My wife is still driving quite rapidly but we start to quiz our little girl.

“What did you swallow?”

“Money.”

Ohh great she swallowed some money.  For those of you who don’t know my daughter she is very little for a two-year old.  I am trying to picture what kind of money would even fit down my little girls throat.  I figure we need to know what is inside her little chest.  I pull out a quarter, dime, nickel, and penny.  I hold my hand out with all four kinds.

“Which money did you put in your mouth?”  I look at the four coins and pray that it isn’t the quarter.  Anything but the quarter.

“This one.”  My little girl reaches out and picks up a nickel.

Well it isn’t a quarter but it is the next worst thing.  Still all and all my daughter is acting as normal as always.  We head into the pediatrician and my daughter is happy about it.  She is even singing “Momma called the doctor and the doctor said ‘No more monkeys jumping on the bed’.” Of course I switch it to “Momma called the doctor and the doctor said ‘No more coins in the little girls mouth’.”

pediatrician says everything is fine but lets take an X-ray and make sure it is a coin and there is only one.  Let me tell you it is amazing how well a nickel shows up on an X-ray.  We even took a nickel and held it up to the X-ray.  Perfect match.

The little girl is doing good.  Although the nickel still hasn’t passed yet.  I imagine that is not going to be fun.  Nickel of death was defeated but the nickel of pain is still in business.  The only question is do I sift through and get the nickel?  Make a little reminder of the nickel?  Or is that just way too gross?

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

