Are there young adult books for boys?

I was listening to a podcast today and they were talking about how young adult books are more for girls than boys.  They were talking about how boys just skip over the young adult books.  I tried to think back to my youth (I know a long time ago) and what I read.  I admit I didn’t read the most as a teenager.  I did read a lot of westerns.  Not a lot of young adult through.

I do read a lot of YA now.  Also there is plenty of YA for boys.

Recommendation #1 Brandon Sanderson’s – Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians

A very funny book about how some of our weaknesses can really be strengths.  Seriously fun read by a very good author.  http://www.amazon.com/Alcatraz-Versus-Librarians-Brandon-Sanderson/dp/B005CDTS30/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1312607811&sr=8-2

Recommendation #2 Cinda Williams Chima – The Warriors Heir

A good book set in modern-day but brings in old school sword fighting and battles.  If you like action this is your book.  http://www.amazon.com/Warrior-Heir-Cinda-Williams-Chima/dp/B0014JQ7TO/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1312608037&sr=1-6

recommendation #3 James Dashner – The 13th Reality

Mystery and other dimensions.  I feel like I have a better explanation for this but I am getting a little sleepy here.   http://www.amazon.com/13th-Reality-Book-Journal-Curious/dp/B001TKSPKC/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1312608231&sr=1-5

So there you go.  Three good recommendations.  Sure there is Harry Potter, Percey Jackson, and Eragon.  Those are all excellent and fun reads but everyone knows those right?  I have some more suggestions for fun Young Adult reads but I gave you plenty to read for now.  Enjoy.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

