How many pages before you stop reading? What chance do you give a book?

I have always thought the question of ‘How many pages do you give a book before you give up on it?’ was an interesting one.  I used to give books hundreds and hundreds of pages before I gave up on a book.

Why would I give a book that much of a chance?  Well I spent money on the book so I like to get my money’s worth.  Plus I like to be in the know.  Usually once I start something I like to finish it.  I want to know what is happening.  Take ‘Moby Dick’ for example.  It is a long huge and boring book.  I have to say I disliked reading that book a lot but did I keep reading it.  Yes I did.  When I was 95% through the book and the whale still hasn’t made an appearance did I want to throw the book across the room?  Oh yeah.  But I stuck it out and read the whole book.

The book I am currently reading I had the debate about 25 pages into it on whether to keep reading it or not.  If I hadn’t paid money for the book I would have stopped reading it.  It was also recommended to me.  (I won’t say what book it is but if you follow me on Facebook or twitter you will probably be able to figure it out reading my next book review).  I decided to give it a chance and kept reading it.  Now I am committed and can’t force myself to give it up.

It isn’t a bad book.  I can even see how some people might even like it.  For me I just can’t get into the complexity of the magic system.  It throws me off almost every time I read it.  If only I was back on page 25 trying to make the decision.

If you have read my blog about the kindle you would have read about how I love the kindle samples.  The kindle samples are about the first 10% of the book.  The first 10% for free.  I have no problem giving up on a free book.  That is easy.

I need your help.  Feel free to comment (on this blog, Facebook, or twitter) about how many pages you think I should give a book.  I need help.  I am struggling with this book.  I don’t want to read as much as I usually do.  Help me not get another anchor book.  Please!

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

