Best podcasts for aspiring writers (according to me). Or for pure entertainment.

For those of you who don’t know I am trying to be a writer.  Okay I am a writer but I am trying to become a published writer. Trying to improve myself I like to surf the web for blogs and advice that might help me become a better writer or help to be published.  Some are helpful some not so much.  What I really enjoy are podcasts.

I am an accountant by day (writer by night) so I have lots of time sitting in my office working. Something that I do to help my day go faster is listening to podcasts.  I don’t only listen to writing ones but I do have my favorites.

I have decided to include a list of my favorites below (in no particular order).  All are defiantly worth a listen if you are a want to be writer.  Actually most are entertaining enough if you aren’t a writer.  Still it took me a little while to find all of these.  Hence, I am doing my part to help other aspiring writers to find good advice out there on the web.

http://www.writingexcuses.com/
– Brandon, Howard, Dan and Mary talk about writing and in less than 15 minutes.  Okay usually not under but right around.  Brandon Sanderson is one of my favorite artists so I would probably listen even if it was bad.  Luckily, for me it is good.  They pick a topic and give solid advice about it.

http://deadrobotssociety.com/
– Justin, Terry, and Eliyanna talk about writing and interview writers.  One of the reasons I like this podcast is how all three seem to be different type of writers.  It is fun to hear the same question from three different perspectives.

http://www.adventuresinscifipublishing.com/
They do some interesting interview on this podcast.  Some of the interesting parts of these
interviews are the questions they ask.  It isn’t all pushing the book the author just wrote.  There are practical questions and how they got where they were questions.

http://pendragonvariety.com/
– The Ladies Pendragon disappeared a little at the beginning of the summer.  It is so good to have them back.  They just did a very interesting episode (#33) about Villains.  You can
never have too much advice on how to make scarier or creepier villains.  They can get a little silly on occasion but in a cute way.

http://thrillerpodcast.com/
– Alan and David talk about their writing.  You might think this would be just for thriller writers but it is useful for any writer.  They try to keep it around 20 minutes and giving them a listen is definitely worth it.

http://isbw.murlafferty.com/
– Mighty Mur Lafferty talking about how she is doing in the writing world and what we can learn from her experiences.  She does a range of different shows but I would have to say the best is the “Good Cop vs. Bad Cop”.  Mur brings her friend Matt in to give a painfully blunt opinion on submitted questions.  Also this theme song is very catchy.  It will get stuck in your head.  I know I am singing it right now.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

