Snooty. Does education make you snobby?

So do people get more snooty the smarter they get? You know what I am talking about.

  • Have you had a friend that has taken too many theater classes and suddenly their prospectives on movies are all weird?
  • How about a friend who eats so healthily that they look down on you eating your yummy quarter pounder with cheese.
  • Do you have a friend that knows so much about herbs and minerals that they look down on modern medicine as mumbo jumbo?

Most of us do.  We may even love these people and respect their opinion in everything except … Movies or food.

My wife says she doesn’t trust her brothers opinions in movies.  That is actually a lie.  She said she doesn’t trust his taste in good movies but he is very accurate in bad movies.

Why does this happen?  The more you learn about something does the normal or mainstream seem more boring or not cool?

I try to think through my brain on what I know a lot about.  I consider myself pretty smart but don’t really have a particular area of expertise. Maybe that makes me unsnobby or unpersnicity.  Probably not. I have always said I am a shallow person.  Shallow but wide.  I know a little bit about a lot of things.  Maybe people can’t see their own over educated snobbishness.

I am trying to think of other good examples of the over educated snobbishness.

  1. Movies – this for me this is number one.  I love a good movie on occasion that has no story line or character development but plenty of explosions.
  2. Food – I hear there is a new term out there for an eating disorder based around too healthy of eating.  I admit I could use less gluten or fatty acids in my diet.  But they are so so yummy.
  3. Medicine – I had a coworker that would swear by herbal remedies.  Echinacea I think I actually bought a bottle of.  Don’t think it did a thing other then making my mouth taste yucky.
  4. Clothing – My wife would be the first to tell you that I have no (or possibly negative) fashion sense.  I don’t know anyone but I imagine there are people out there tha would never wear certain materials.  Or even white after labor day.
  5. Computers – It is the big debate of Mac vs PC.  Is this educational snobbery or just personal preference?  Coke vs Pepsi?
  6. Books – this is the one I am curious about.  I know my wife likes to read a fluff book on occasion.  Who doesn’t? Ohh I imagine there are people out there who would roll their eyes at me reading my favorite Louis Lamour.  I know most of his books are strangely similar.  But so entertaining.
  7. Cars – Ford vs Chevy?

The longer I write this the more I wonder how much is personal preference vs snobbery.  I know one of my best friends is reading (or has already read this) and is thinking ‘Hey is he calling me a snob?’

After enough of a dramatic pause to hint that I might give a bad answer I say ‘NO!’  I would never call you a snob.  The snobbery must come from how you present your preferences.  Do you look down at the McDonald eating, Jack Black watching, flip-flop wearing, over medicated person or do you just live your life the way you think you should.

I feel like I should have come up with an answer as to if education causes snobbery.  Every part of me wants to say ‘You bet it does!’ but I can’t.  Not without proof.  I know how weak of me.  Sorry.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

