Picketing the Circus?

I took my little girl to the circus last night.  As we got to the arena there was a line of picketers.  It actually took me a while to figure out what they were doing I was so surprised.

I understand that they believe in what they are doing and I am not even saying what they doing is wrong.  I just found it a little odd.  Maybe I was trying to determine what they expected to accomplish.  I knew there was no way my 2-year-old would let me turn around and not go in.  No matter how may times I told her that the elephants and lions should be free.

The fact that it was the attractions that they were protesting that my daughter found most entertaining wasn’t lost on me.  How could she not enjoy the lions and elephants.  I know I did as a kid.  I might have even had a dream or two of being a lion tamer.  Never one as an elephant tamer.  Maybe I dreamed of being a lion tamer and dating one of the girls who ride the elephants.

I do have to admit that the people there picketing were very very nice.  They weren’t pushy and had little coloring books for the kids.  I am not sure what they hoped to accomplish but I may think a little bit about them next time I get tickets.  Maybe that is what they want.

Although I am not sure I could tell my little girl that we aren’t going to the circus due to the treatment of the animals.  In fact I am pretty sure I that won’t happen.  I might try to talk her out of it but that is more because of the souvenir prices then the animal treatment.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

