Sometimes you think you are related and sometimes not so much.

I went out to dinner with my father, two brothers, and brother-in-law and when we were ordering it sure sounded like we were related.  Lots of similar orders and extra sides of ranch.  It was kind of funny to watch the waitress as we all ordered.  I am not saying it was all the same exact food but everyone had some similar stuff.  Maybe we ordered it with similar attitudes.  But I swear I could see the waitress shake her head every once in a while.

Not often we get to go out just the boys.  It was fun.  We were sitting there waiting for the food talking about all sorts of stuff.  Ranging from religion to sports.  Got to love it when guys can be guys.  Our food arrives and I get a beautiful steak, mashed potatoes, and corn on the cob placed in front of me.

I have to admit I am all sorts of excited about the corn on the cob.  I am not a vegetable fan.  Some people even say corn is a starch and not really a vegetable.  Maybe that is why I like it so much.

Then I see something that makes me wonder if I am not related to my dad.  He is taking his corn on the cob and slicing the corn off the cob.  What is he doing?  Don’t wreck a corn on the cob like that.  Not only is he slicing the corn off the cobb but he ordered coke over Pepsi.  I know he is crazy now.

There are times were you are positive that you are related and there are times where you are not so sure.  Could I really be the son of two coke drinkers?  Maybe two negatives make a positive.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes you think you are related and sometimes not so much.

  1. Every family had their shame. How did your parents cope with your pepsi drinking?

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

