Date night with my daughter.

So my wife went out with her friends tonight leaving me and my daughter time to go out on a date.  Where do you take a super energetic 2 year old.  McDonald’s of course.  She loves that place.  She doesn’t call it McDonald’s but Pepper refers to it as the Chicken House.

I get home from work and one of the first things she says to me is “Dad you and me go to Chicken House?  No Mommy.  Daddy and Pepper.”

Is that not the cutest thing in the world?  Well cute for me I am not sure how cute my wife thought it was.

Sure it wasn’t the best date but we both had fun.  She was running around McDonald’s like a crazy girl and I was laughing at her.  Do you think she will want to hang out with her old man when she is a teenager?

I admit when I found out that my wife was pregnant with a girl I was worried.  When I learned I was going to be a dad the images in my head were all of a boy.  You know playing catch or wrestling around.  I know I know you can do those things with a girl.  But that is not how I imagined it.  I even started a list of reasons why it was better to have a girl over a boy.

Can I tell you know that I am glad it was a girl.  Or at least I am glad it is this little girl.  She is one of the best things that has ever happened to me.  Not only that but she thinks I am pretty great too.  She is at the stage where she wants to say “I Love You.” a lot and I eat it up.

So little girl I know you can’t read and will probably never read this but I am glad you are my daughter.  So so glad.  Here is hoping you still like me in 5 years, 10 years, and 20 years.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Date night with my daughter.

  1. Aww… that’s sweet. I was hoping for a pic too. I always like to hear a daddy’s take. I have an almost 2yo and they are completely entertaining (tho a boy). Thnx for sharing, Ryan. :o)

    Like

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    This is just lovely. Great dad!

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

