Things I looked for in a wife….and found.

The young women in our church are having an activity and they asked me to help. Why would they ask me to help?  Well they are trying to recognize the characteristics, talents, and spiritual gifts that will help them as they prepare to be married in the temple and become wives and mothers.  How can I help the young women with that?  Well I am supposed to talk about those qualities in my wife that I am grateful for.

I felt I might as well share those thoughts with the world.  I love to talk about how awesome my wife is.

Thinking back on the early part of our relationship and looking at what made me decide that she was the one for me.  When we started dating my wife was pretty sick.  She was battling a bout with pneumonia.    She had coughed so much that she had some serious rib pain.  During the whole time we dated, she had a very positive and upbeat outlook on life.  I am not saying she didn’t complain about the cough and pain (my wife is a bit of a whiner about stuff like that) but she never let that bring her down.  We had many wonderful and fun dates during that time which easily could have turned negative with a lesser attitude.

Another thing that instantly drew me to my wife was her choice in occupation.  She was on track to become an elementary school teacher.  I love kids don’t get me wrong but there is
no way I could survive in a room with 20 kids and come out with my sanity.  Not only did she choose a profession that she can give and effect a lot of young people but it is one that is underappreciated financially.  Knowing she was willing to give so much time, effort, and care for 20 kids who weren’thers made me sure she would give those same things when he had a kid of her own.

One thing my wife was worried about telling me early on in our relationship was the chance that she might not be able to have a child of her own.   Even though there was a possibility that she might not be able to have a child of her own she wanted to be a mother.  One way or another she wanted to be part of raising a child.  That flexibility of thought on an issue so major was defiantly an appeal to me.  Life gives you a whole lot of curveballs and some people are better at dealing with those then others.  Seeing her deal with something, this big so well has a definite appeal.

Compatibility is also another thing that everyone looks for in his or her future mate.   I had
dated quite a bit before I meet my wife so for me an ideal first date was dinner.  Why inner?  Because if there is a connection it is easy to turn dinner into something more but if there is nothing there all you really waste is 1 hour.  My first date dinner with my wife turned into a 3-hour dinner.  The conversation was smooth with few or no interruptions way different from the normal uncomfortable getting to know you that happens on most early dates.  The date went so much longer than anticipated my wife’s roommate was ready to call in the police to have me arrested for kidnapping.

One more quality that drew me to my wife was her patriotism.  This probably isn’t listed as something that might be put down as item looked for in a future wife but it is defiantly one that she has in spades.  The passion and pride she has for this great county was appealing and showed how deeply she could feel about things.  Life is too short to not have passion and pride for important things.  Just being around her made me feel even more enthusiasm for something I was already enthusiastic about.  How could I not be drawn to this woman?

I can tell you now that I was right about my initial evaluation of the characteristics she shows.  I see her positive outlook on life every day.  She is a very giving person.  Not only in her work but in all parts of her life.  She is flexible in most things in our lives.  She is open to new thing and willing to see things from all angles.  She is the person I want to talk to after a tough or great day.  The compatibility I felt on that first date has grown leaps and bounds.  Lastly, my wife is still as passionate about this country as ever.  Not only about this country but many other things.   It is that passion that makes me feel younger then I am.

Those are the qualities I wanted to share with the young women.  It is what drew me to my
wife.  Well that and the fact she is very nice to look at.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I looked for in a wife….and found.

  1. artjen1971 says:

    I love the pumpkin carving tool–I forgot how hard it was even with the plastic tool kits the stores sell. I remember the days of dull kitchen knives, eight year old carvers, and being grateful for finishing a jack-o-lantern without an emergency room visit! Did our parents really understand what they were allowing?

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

