Day one in Hawaii – Going to Pearl Harbor

I am sure you all want a minute by minute description of my vacation.  Okay not a minute by minute description but at least more detail than my last post.  To appease your interest I will give you a couple of blog posts explaining my wonderful vacation.

Day one – For those of you who don’t know my wife is a big WWII fan.  Needless to say going to Pearl Harbor was the first stop on our trip.  Not that I was complaining because I have always been interested in seeing it.

We go and get our tickets first.  You can get free tickets for a boat ride out to the Arizona Memorial.  You can actually do a lot of Pearl Harbor for free.  They have several little museums around the main area for you to walk through while you wait for your boat.  I found them interesting but my 2-year-old did not like them as much.  I got the quick tour of the museums.

Before you can go on your boat ride out to the Arizona there is a 30 minute movie.  It was pretty interesting.  My daughter requested some popcorn and M&M’s as well as needing a bathroom break in the middle.  I know it may sound like my daughter didn’t like it but next was the boat ride and she ate that up.

One of the funniest parts about our trip was for some reason Pepper thought that the Arizona Memorial was Hawaii.  Yes we flew all the way to the sandy beaches of Hawaii but my little 2-year-old girl thought the large white Arizona Memorial was Hawaii. 

The Arizona is still there under the water.  Every once in a while you can catch a sniff of oil that makes you think back to that day.  To the men and women who fought and died that day.  Makes you appreciate the men and women serving today.  Putting themselves in danger every day for the freedom we all enjoy.

After the trip to the Memorial we decided to pay for some tickets to go to the Battleship Missouri.  A quick bus ride onto the base and there it was a huge ship.  Went on a guided tour which was interesting but it paled in comparison to the personal tour we got from my father-in-law.  He served on a similar ship and had all sorts of inside knowledge and stories. 

Down in the bowels of the ship we get the stories.  I still chuckle about the one he told about him and a friend standing at an unmarked door.  As people walked by they asked “What are you waiting for?”  They would answer “We are waiting for our turn for the pool.”  Then the line would grow and grow.  Then they would leave stating that they needed to be somewhere.  Walking by that spot a while later there is still a line.  Ha ha ha.

Then to end the trip there is a statue at the end of pier with a sailor kissing a girl.  You are supposed to go there and take a picture using the pose.  What a great part right?  I get to kiss my wife and photograph it.  Plus it is a pretty cool picture.

That is day one of our trip.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day one in Hawaii – Going to Pearl Harbor

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

