Best books of 2011 according to me.

I was putting in a review on Goodreads (If you don’t know what good reads is but your a reader you should look into it.  I have found it a good way to keep track of my books) and I noticed I have read 54 books this year.  Not bad right.  More than a book a week.  Some of them have been audio books but I still think it is quite the accomplishment.

Since I have read so many books this year I have decided to enlighten you all with the books that I considered the best of 2011.  I took my 54 books and sorted them by rating.  I had 9 5 out of 5 star ratings.  That makes it way right.  I recommend these nine books and I am good to go.  It is actually easier than that.

4 of the 9 (5 stars) were all in one series.  So almost half of my books of the year were from one series.  That must say something about how much I liked them.  My number one recommendation for the 2011 year is ‘The Golden Age of the Solar Clipper’ series by Nathan Lowell.  There are actually 6 books in the series and the first 4 all got 5 star ratings.  It follows a young Ishmael Horatio who is thrown into a life as a space merchant.  It isn’t an action packed series but I have to say I found it all very interesting.  The first book is called ‘Quarter Share’ I highly recommend it.

2 of the 9 (5 stars) was also in a series.  The ‘Adventurers Wanted’ series by M.L. Forman.  There is only 2 books in this series (the third one set to release early next year I think).  It follows 15 year old Alex Taylor who joins an adventure in another dimension.  Alex leaves this dimension to join a group on search of dragon’s gold in the first book called ‘Slathbog’s Gold’.

1 of the 9 (5 stars) is by my favorite author Brandon Sanderson.  No not one of his big thick fantasy books but his young adult book.  It was ‘Alcatraz Versus the Shattered Lens’ the fourth book in the ‘Alcatraz’ series.  The first 3 books all received 5 stars as well but were not read in 2011.  this series follows Alcatraz Smedry on his journey to save the world with his unique talent.

1 of the 9 (5 stars) is by another one of my favorite authors Cinda Williams Chima and her ‘Seven Realms’ series.  There are 3 books in this series with a 4th to release in 2011 hopefully.  My 5 star rating was for book #3 ‘The Grey Wolf Throne’.  Book one also got a 5 star but not in 2011.  This book follows Han Alister an ex-thief as he discovers he has magic and his journey to control it.

The last 1 of the 9 (5 stars) is ‘The Gathering’ book 2 of the (The New Heroes/Quantum Prophecy).  Books 1 and 2 got 4 out of 5 stars but were also very enjoyable.  This series follows Thirteen-year-olds Danny and Colin as they discover their hero abilities and work together to save the world.

There you go my 9 (5 stars) for 2011.  Yes most of them are Young Adult but that is my favorite genre.  I do enjoy a good Young Adult.  Why don’t you try some of these out.  I enjoyed them all immensely.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

