The Terrible Twos——- or the Tortuous Threes

My day off. Time to sit back and relax enjoying the day with my wonderful and cute family. Or at least that is what I was thinking. We head down to the Discovery Gateway Children’s Museum and my little three-year old decides to throw a hissfit. It could be partially my fault because she is an only child so she might have some lessons to learn.

Now I am not saying only children don’t know how to share but today my daughter was on one.  She would not share with anyone and when we moved her to a different are she went ballistic. That’s right my cute little girl yelled at someone for being in an area where she wanted to be. There was plenty of room for two people. Then when a little boy came and took all the pretend sandwich meat she started yelling at him.

Luckily for us we are members of this place and we could pick up and leave without losing any $$. But we had to carry out our little girl screaming out of the place. We did get some dirty glares as we were leaving. Really? Did they want me to be beating my child vs carrying her out?

Screaming as we put her in the car I can’t help but wonder if having a 3-year-old will be harder than having a 2-year-old. Come on they call it the terrible twos for a reason right. I thought I made it through the hard part. Well until she became a teenager (not looking forward to that). People I talked to warned me. They told me to watch out that three was worse than two. I didn’t believe. My daughter was different. She is only going to get better.

I guess this is making it sound like my daughter was a terror while she was two. She really wasn’t. She was great more often than not. Life is supposed to get easier though right? As I share my wisdom with her she should obey me more not less right. She should see how awesome I am as a father. Right??

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

