Best Songs of 2011 – Okay not really.

Okay it has finally happened.  I never thought it would but I can’t deny it anymore.  I am not cool anymore.  Well that may be a lie I am still cool but maybe I am not ultra cool anymore.  The other day I did a post of what were the best books I read in 2011.  I thought ‘Everyone loves lists I should do a list of the best songs in 2011.’

Easy enough right.  Wrong.  I go to the Billboard website and pull up their top 10 songs of 2011.

1 Rolling in the Deep – Adele

2 Party Rock Aanthem –  LMFAO Featuring Lauren Bennett & GoonRock

3 Firework – Katy Perry

4 E.T. – Katy Perry Featuring Kanye West

5 Give Me Everything – Pitbull Featuring Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer

6 Grenade – Bruno Mars

7 F**K You (Forget You) – Cee Lo Green

8 Super Bass – Nicki Minaj

9 Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 Featuring Christina Aguilera

10 Just Can’t Get Enough –  The Black Eyed Peas

That’s right those are supposed to be the top songs in 2011.  Did I recognize any of those songs?  No.  Okay that is a lie.  I did recognize some but I had to play them first before I knew I recognized them.  Sure, I recognized some of the artists too.  Although I must admit I have probably heard more about from most artists in the tabloids than in music.

So if you are looking to see my list of best songs of 2011 you aren’t going to find it.  Why?  Because I am feeling a little older and a little less cool than I did yesterday.  So you don’t get a fancy list to reference later you just get to hear an old man whine about how he misses the good old days.

Who should I blame?  The two women in my life that’s who.  Okay one is only three so she doesn’t really deserve too much blame.  Can I really listen to Jay Z with her in the room?  Not only is there stuff I won’t listen too but she demands to listen to certain things.  Lots of Disney is played in our car.  I can sing most of the songs in Pete’s Dragon.

That leaves my wife.  She gets the rest of the blame.  No, I don’t get any blame because in my eyes I am still as cool as I always have been.  She is a country music fan.  So if we aren’t listening to Disney music more often than not we are listening to country music.  Scared I looked at the country top 10 songs of the year and I recognized most of them.

No I am not going to list them here.  I feel a little shamed at this post.  Old uncool me.

Although if you get the chance listen to “Red Solo Cup” by Toby Keith.  Early pick for best song in 2012.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

