The Dusty Bookshelf Challenge 2012!

I don’t know about you but I tend to buy too many books.  One of the problems with too buying too many books is I never have enough time to read them all.  Not only that but now that I have shifted to a eReader these books are just collecting dust on my shelf.  Not only one shelf but three shelves of books collecting dust.

Then I read a blog by Jessica talking about a ‘Dusty Book Challenge.’

http://www.booksatruestory.com/index.php/2011/11/28/sign-up-for-the-dusty-bookshelf-challenge-2012/

This challenge is perfect for me.  I can clear of some space on my to be read shelf.  There are several levels in this dusty book challenge.  I am going with the Cobweb challenge.  In 2012 I am going to blow the dust from 15 of these books and read them.

1. – 5. Leven Thumps Books 1-5 by Obert Skye

6. The Adventures of Dod by Thomas R. Williams

7. + 8. Farworld 1 + 2 by J. Scott Savage

9. Deeper by Gordon & Williams

10. Fortunes of War by Stephen Coonts

11. Ancestor by Scott Sigler

12. The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

13. Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

14. Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden

15. Epic by Conor Kostick

So these 15 books have been on my shelf for a while.  Some I got for a good deal and couldn’t pass up.  Some were suggested by different people or even podcasts.  Some I think I even got at a scholastic warehouse sale.  How long they have been there I do not know but I do know they wont be there in 2013.  They will be on some other shelf collecting dust.

Wish me luck.

 

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dusty Bookshelf Challenge 2012!

  1. Me getting a kindle is exactly why I started this challenge! I love reading on it so much I knew that without some sort of motivation I wouldn’t get to those books that I still had sitting on my shelf. Good luck with your challenge!

    Like

    • I agree. So much easier to just read on the kindle. Even more so if it is a thick book. Dusty Book Challenge is just what I needed to remember the old school books. Sad to think paper is now old school.

      Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

