Who is a Man’s Man? I am that’s who.

I consider myself a macho kind of guy.  I watch sports and love action movies.  I can grunt and burp with the best of them.  Although I always wanted to be a little handier around the house.  My daughter thinks I can fix anything.  The other day she asked me to fixed a popped balloon (I did fix it enough that she was satisfied). 

All this being said I know my wife has wanted more shelf space.  We have been on getting our food storage in better shape so if a disaster does happen we have a better chance of surviving.  The only problem with all the extra food storage our kitchen and pantry was running out of space.  Being the brilliant man and awesome husband I am I mad a plan.

We went to Lowes the other day and started looking at shelves.  The shelves were actually on sale so that might have been a sign we were on the right path.  Since the stuff was on sale we bought it and threw it in the car and went home.  I started pulling out all my tools so I was ready to get down to some serious machoism.

Here is the before photo.   I know awesome curtains and the non matching washer and dryer.  You aren’t supposed to notice that you are supposed to notice all the empty space above it.  That is where I planned to put the shelves.  With the help of my two girls we started putting them up.  On girl was more helpful than the other but I won’t point any fingers.

After some labor and not too many mistakes we had success.  We put up our shelves and totally increased our storage area.   As proud as I am of my macho installation I think my wife is even happier with the results.  See for yourself.  I know you are impressed but I am not taking side work just yet.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who is a Man’s Man? I am that’s who.

  1. that’s very impressive. Living in an only-female house, our mum taught us to put up shelves, though we’re hindered by having crappy walls. But so far, none of our shelves have fallen down 🙂

    Like

  2. Cynthia says:

    Looks great. I love a project that can be done in one weekend. My husband does wood working so a simple project sometimes can take weeks or more to finish, but I have to admit, it always looks awesome when it’s done.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

