I love basketball. Having fun what a difference.

I have been the coach of our church’s young mens sports teams for the last 6 years.  I can tell you that watching these young men play basketball has been some of the most fun I have had over those six years.  I have had some really good ball players and some that I am not sure have ever picked up a basketball in their life.  But there is one thing that I can say is they know how to have fun.

Over the last six years we have won some and lost some but we sure have had a good time through most of them.  Sure on occasion it is ugly.  Sure some boys may shoot it every time they touch the ball.  Sure the refs don’t really want to be there so they tend to not make any calls as long as no one is hurt.  This could cause lots of people stress and annoyance but I proudly say all my boys seem to have fun.

It is very nice to see the ones who really know how to play do little things to help those who don’t play as well.  I recall one time where the team decided to get one of the younger little guys on the team a score.  I have never seen such intensity and energy trying to get the rebound.  I know it sounds incredible but I swear this boy must have shot 12 to 15 shots in a row.  He would shoot and miss and his team would crash the boards and get it back to him.  When he made it they all went crazy and each of their smiles as big as the young man who made it.

I have seen some excellent sportsmanship and some not so excellent.  I have seen frustration at one thing or another but I have always been proud of how my boys acted.  There were times they had a right to complain or whine but it rarely seems to happen with them.  I love watching basketball but you rarely see the joy that I see on some of their faces when they have the ball.  The intense focus as they dribble down the court.  The encouragement I see from their teammates on and off the court.

Sure it makes it a little more fun when you win and I have to brag that we are 2 and 0 so far this season.  But I am much more proud of the way the young men act.  They all want to play every minute but understand that time must be divided.  They understand that the goal is to win but they understand it is just a game and games are supposed to be fun.

Way to go young men.  Keep it up.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

