Sometimes it is easy to be down.

I don’t get deep too often.  In fact I like to say I am shallow but wide.  Meaning I can touch on all sorts of different topics without ever delving deep in any one.  Well I wanted to talk about this video I watched on you tube today.  I am going to post the link.  Go ahead and watch it.  I will wait till you get back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gc4HGQHgeFE

For those of you who couldn’t pull up the video (due to system monitors or dial up) I will tell you a little bit about it.

It is about Nick Vujicic, pronounced ‘Vooy-cheech’. Born into the world with neither arms nor legs. How would that be?  I know I have had back problems most of my adult life and I take a lot of pride in the fact that I don’t complain about it.  I am not always so stoic.  I am sick today and my wife would probably tell you I have played it up some.  Looked for some sympathy and pampering.

Now I don’t know Nick Vujicic or have watched more about him that a couple of Youtube videos.  But the fact that he is living his life shows me quite a bit.  That he is able to have a positive message is something spectacular all in itself.

Watching this video makes me reevaluate my life.  I wasn’t down on my life.  In fact i think I have an awesome life.  I love my wife and she loves me.  Sure it took me a while to find her but she was well worth the wait to find.  I love my daughter and she may love me more that anything else in the world.  Seeing how excited she gets when I come home from work may be the greatest feeling ever.

Seeing that cute little 3-year-old run around the corner screaming “Daddy’s home.  Daddy’s home.” just melts my heart.  She will jump up into my arms and say something cute like “I miss you daddy.” or “I love you daddy.”  when you have something like that in your life how can you not help but love it.

I have a job that I like that pays pretty good.  I get to spend time with the young men from church and they certainly help me feel younger and more energetic.   But do I live my life to the fullest?  Do I get the most out of my life?  Do I give the best of me to my loved ones?

I am not sure I do.  But that is going to change.  I am going to make an effort to look at life more positively.  To appreciate the things I have and not worry about the things I don’t.  At least that’s what I am going to try to do.  I will wake up in the morning and be happy.  When people ask me how I am doing my response will be “Great!”

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

