How do you choose what to watch? –Is my wife always right?

Okay here is a typical routine for my night.  When we finally get our daughter down to sleep and get all p.j.ed up and take care of anything else we need too we settle down for the night the normal question comes up.  What do you want to watch?  Yeah I know my wife and I probably watch a little too much TV but it is such a good way to unwind after a long day.

So how to choose what you watch?  I do have to say thank heaven for DVR.  We never ever watch anything live.  I am not even sure what day most things are on.  Yes we get a spoiler everyone in a while by checking Facebook when we shouldn’t but other than that it is great.  Until we get to the question.

I am kind of curious how other people choose.  Is it like the way we choose movies.  Every other time (the last two adult movies we have watcher were MI4 and New Year’s Eve.  You decide who choose what).  That makes for the big question on what to pick.  Do you pick the one you really want to see even though there is a good chance that your spouse may choose that one at another time?  Or do you choose one you know there is no way that your spouse will choose?

There is a different wrinkle in our TV watching.  My wife usually goes to sleep at least an hour before I do which gives me free reign to watch whatever I want during that time.  Do couples just grow together so they like to watch the same show?  Will my wife start liking sports in another year or two?  Am I going to start liking General Hospital?

I am not saying when I ask the question about what to watch we only watch what my wife likes to watch.  We both choose shows that we know the other one can tolerate but with that extra hour of freedom I have later I lean towards the shows my wife likes to see.  For example we are watching ABC Family “Lying Game”.  This is a show I barely tolerate.

What about choosing the show that is the oldest on the DVR?  I guess we could do that?  But then when you have a show you really like you want to watch it as soon as you can.

Suggestions?

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

