Watch Courageous – Then ask yourself should I be a better father?

Are you one of those people who is always looking for a good movie to watch?  I know I am.  You see the big hype from Hollywood and think “Wow I can’t wait to see ‘Cowboys and Aliens.’ that show looks good.”  Then you watch it and it doesn’t live up to your expectations.

Well let me change that for you.  Go watch “Courageous ‘Honor Begins at Home'”.  The show isn’t about big explosions and creepy effects.  It is about 4 men working hard to be police officers.  But as hard as they work protecting the people of their community they have something even harder at home to deal with.  Fatherhood.

There are no big explosions or big name actors in this show but it does make you feel emotions.  I admit it (although I probably shouldn’t) I am a crier during movies.  My wife on the other hand is a cold hearted snake when watching movies.  She says she has only cried twice in a movie and one was “Fox and the Hound” and we all know how long ago that came out.

Well make it three movies now.  We both cried several times during this movie.  Good and sad crying.  We also laughed a lot.  We also had some deeper conversations about parenting.

I consider myself an awesome father.  It is actually one of the things I am most proud of.  My daughter loves me of that I am sure but even with all that watching this show makes me wonder if I need to do even a little bit more.  In this movie they take a pledge.  They take the following pledge.

THE RESOLUTION

I do solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children.
I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home.
I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honor her, and be willing to lay down my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me.
I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all of their hearts, all of their minds, and all of their strength.
I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly.
I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy.
I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion.
I WILL work diligently to provide for the needs of my family.
I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged.
I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God.
I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word, and do His will.
I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. – Joshua 24:15

That is a deep resolution but one I am very willing to accept.  I Ryan James Burt on February 5th, 2012 do here by pledge to fulfill this resolution from this day forward.

Watch the movie and see if you want to accept it too.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watch Courageous – Then ask yourself should I be a better father?

  1. We just showed the movie at our church for the men’s ministry and the attendance for it was better than we anticipated. Many of them were greatly challenged to lead better at home, but they’re all looking forward to learning how to humbly be lead by Christ first.

    Even after seeing it for the second time, it has still challenged me.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

