Book review of “Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

1) Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2) Genre: Young Adult

3) Synopsis: Katniss taking her younger sisters place enters into the ‘Hunger Games’.  She is now forced to fight for her life in a winner take all death match.

4) Feelings: I have read this book before but wanted to read it again one more time with the movie coming out.  Not only that but this book is written in first person present tense.  I write my books in first person and wanted to see how Suzanne Collins does it.  There is only one problem.  I kept getting too involved in the story line to pick up any tips.  If you haven’t read this book what hole have you been hiding in for the last few years.

I admit it does start a little slow but it is well worth staying with it.  I also admit that it is a little violent.  I am not sure I would let too many kids read this book.  I am a bit curious to see how much they show during the movie.

5) Final recommendation: Stop reading this review and go out nd get the book and read it.  If you are older than 12.  Or a mature 10-year-old.  Even if you hate present tense first person suck it up and read it.  Please.  Because I write in present tense first person.  Pretty please.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book review of “Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

  1. Michele Shaw says:

    I loved this trilogy and can’t wait for the movie. I’ll admit the present tense threw me at first and I had to get into it, but then I didn’t even notice. I write 1st person, but hadn’t written present. I thought I’d challenge myself as an exercise. It took some time to adjust, but one of my current wip’s is 1st/present now. It just works for that story. I won’t go that route every time. It seems I let my characters decide, and strangely enough, the present/1st I’m writing was my 1st time with a boy MC. He started talking to me in present, so…there you go:)

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

