What to read next. The big decision.

It is one of the big dilemmas in life. Okay that might be a little dramatic but choosing what to read next does commit your time. Some of us may read faster than others but picking up a 300 page book does commit a significant amount of time.

How do you decide what to read next? I have a book shelf full of books that I want to read. Should I pick up one of those dusty books?

I also have quite a few e-books sitting on my kindle waiting for me to read. Should I snag one of those?

I have a bunch of kindle samples that people suggest to read. Sometimes I read through those and divide then up as to buy and to possibly buy. Maybe I should grab one of those.

I love the Goodreads website and I get suggestions on books to read from friends on there. Should those be the books I am reading?

It really is to stressful of situation. I remember when I was a kid that I didn’t feel that pressure. I always knew what I was going to read next. Of course I didn’t get new books while still reading a book. The library was an easy way to just switch out books and I could just look at the covers.

I admit with the e-reader I do miss being able to look at the spine, cover and back blurb. Sure you can go online and see most of that info. You can see reviews and to me that seems to be a big influence.

I admit it I bend to peer pressure. If a book has a bunch of good reviews I am more likely to read it. Although the biggest influence is when friends suggest stuff. I think I need more reader friends because I don’t get as many suggestions as I usually do.

Sorry if this seems like rambling because it is. I am locked out of my house and waiting for my wife to come home. So I am sitting in my car wasting time. Apparently I am wasting your time too.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

