Heros. They seem to be showing up a lot lately.

Yeah I have been dealing with a lot of heroes lately.  No not like I have been in trouble and needed to be saved by someone with super powers kind of way.  More in the it has been a reoccurring theme in the books I am reading, shows I watch, or even the podcasts I listen to.

I was listening to a podcast called “Thrillercast” today and they were talking about Heroes.  You know some of the normal questions.  Who is your favorite hero?  What super power would you want?  Do Heroes have to have super powers?

They talked about Batman who doesn’t have super powers.  He is just a brilliant man with all sorts of gadgets.  Iron Man is the same way.  You could even go to James Bond.  But they are all fictional characters.  Is that why we idolize sports stars?  Are they our heroes?  Our knights in shoulder pads?

Is that why we are so disappointed when they do something stupid?  Superman would never do that right?

The book I am reading “Monster Hunters International” by Larry Correia and there is one scene where several monster hunters travel to a Mental Hospital.  The patients in the hospital are all survivors of horrible monster attacks.  When they see the Hunters they go up to them and thank them and praise them.  Calling them heroes.  Does that happen today?  When a policeman saves a life?  When the fireman saves one?  When a soldier does his job?

We all need heroes.  In a recent episode of “NCIS” they had some vigilante Heroes going around and cleaning up the neighborhood.  Do we all need heroes?  Someone to look up to?  Someone who makes us want to be a better person?  A stronger person?

I say yes.  We do need heroes.   That is why we love movies.  That is why we love books.  That is why we love comics.  That is why we love sports.  Heroes are something we inspire to be.  I want to be a hero.  Don’t you.

Ohh and as for the other questions.

Favorite Superhero:  Superman.  I know he is too powerful.  But he is the man.

Pick a super power: telekinesis.  The power to move things with your mind.  That would be awesome.  I would be better at basketball.  Wouldn’t need a remote.  If I was powerful enough I would be able to fly.

And no heroes don’t need to have super powers.  True heroes can be as human as you and me.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heros. They seem to be showing up a lot lately.

  1. clraven says:

    we want lightning and fire power. And we’ll probably be lured to the dark side and use our powers for evil purposes.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

