Look at me. I am the winner winner chicken dinner.

Who doesn’t like to win.  I know I do.  Winning is awesome.  It just doesn’t happen very often.  Or maybe I should say it doesn’t happen enough.  Well last week I won.  I not only won but I won something very cool.  As you know I am a writer but I want to be a published writer.

What’s the best way to become a published writer?  Find a literary agent.  Well I entered a contest on the Love YA blog hosted by Monica B.W.  In this contest agent Hannah Bowman read pitches that were 140 characters long.  A twitter pitch.

I woke up one morning and was reading through some blogs when I saw this contest.  Monica said she was going to only accept 60 pitches.  I scrolled down to see how many pitches had already been entered.  When I saw it was 27 I thought I better do this now or I won’t make it.

I pulled out the computer (I was reading the blog on my phone) and posted my pitch.

Pitch:  She is pure evil and has a plan to take over the world.  Thousands will do anything to kill her.  There is only one problem.  I’m her bodyguard.

Then as I am sure you can guess from the title of this blog I won.  I know hard to believe right?  Okay I know you all think I am super-duper awesome so maybe you aren’t surprised.  I will post the link just in case you want to make sure I am right.

http://monibw.blogspot.com/2012/03/agent-hannah-bowman-has-chosen-winners.html

That’s right, I have a chance to show the first 50 pages of my book to Hannah Bowman.  I would like to thanks Monica and Hannah for this chance.  Thanks.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Look at me. I am the winner winner chicken dinner.

  1. lwsapir says:

    That’s AWESOME, Ryan! And I can’t believe you came up with a twitter-pitch that good that quickly! Nice going!

    Like

  2. Perfect pitch — I know I wanna read that story

    Like

  3. fuzzymango says:

    Congratulations! That’s so awesome! And if I were an agent, I’d totally request pages from a pitch like that. 🙂 Well done!

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

