Be careful what you ask for. You might get it and it might hurt.

It is a common saying.  We have all heard it.  “Be careful what you ask for.”  For those of you who don’t know I’m a die-hard Laker fan.  I was hoping for change.  I wanted the Lakers to make trades.  At one point I was even ready to trade Kobe.  I know I know thinking back on it I should have known not to put those vibes out in the air.

Well those vibes did bring change to the wonderful Lakers.  They traded away Derek Fisher.  Derek Fisher aka Team Captain aka Glue aka Big Shot Maker aka Kobe’s Best Friend.  I got change but it was more than I expected.

To say farewell to a true Laker and good man I will share one of my greatest memories of him.  I have only taken my wife to one professional basketball game.  We live in Utah and let me tell you it is hard to be a Laker fan in Utah.

Derek Fisher was a member of the Utah Jazz for a while but left.  The official reason was so he could take care his 11 month old daughter with a rare form of eye cancer.  People here in Utah seem to think this was some sort of made up story made worse when he resigned with the Los Angeles Lakers.  So he suddenly became public enemy number one.

I dressed up in my Laker gear and my wife and I walked up to our nose bleed seats.  We sit down and there are several Laker fans around.  But when the game starts the Jazz fans boo Derek every time he touches the ball.  The crowd gets rowdy and somewhat hostile.  I had a tough time believing they were booing one of the nicer guys in the league.  Someone who had done a lot for the community.

I have no idea who won that game.  But I know due to the response of the fans to the mighty Derek Fisher my wife doesn’t want to go back to see another game there.  Thank you Jazz fans.

We will miss you Derek.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

