Do you have to spell in front of your kid? What if your kid is too smart?

Okay we have started spelling in front of our daughter.  It usually works pretty good.  Well I’m a horrible speller so there are times it may take me a while or I might spell my word incorrectly (there is no spell check in my brain).

This last week my wife and I were having a conversation on what we should do this weekend.

Wife: “Do you think we should go to the Z-o-o?”

Me: Trying to put together what she spelled.  Okay it didn’t take me too long.

Daughter: “We are going to the Zoo?!?!?!”

I realize Zoo isn’t a big word and when we talk about Z words Zoo is the first one brought up.  My wife and I stared at each other in disbelief that she came up with that.  Are we going to have to use more complex words?  That hurts my bad spelling brain.  Maybe we should use morse code.  Wait I don’t know that either.

Needless to say we did end up going to the zoo.  My cute daughter is 3 and she was a little afraid of getting to close to the glass on occasion.  She liked certain animals (Loved the crocodiles, elephants, turtles, and giraffes) more than others (refused to see the rhinos and didn’t like the snakes much).  There is a carousel there which she loved.  We even did a good job of taking pictures.  Okay these are bad pictures but my wife is big on internet security.

 

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you have to spell in front of your kid? What if your kid is too smart?

  1. Shauni says:

    OH this is funny.. Years ago at my inlaws 40th anniverary weekend.. we were all together 16 adults and at that time 8 grandchildren.. The adults were considering if we wanted to do B-R-E-A-K-F-A-S-T the next morning.. I was spelling it out trying to figure out what they were talking about (this is really more of a disorder I have I can’t listen to spelling in my head..now long division sure, I have to see the letters) anyway there I was spelling my brains out when one of the 8yr olds looked up at me and said.. BREAKFAST!! Yeah, I feel your pain

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    It would be really funny if parents started clapping out Morse code.

    Like

  3. Haha my parents, sister and I used to do that too in front of the children in the family! Spelling… but at a certain age, this method is ineffective! Well at least it was fun going to the Z-o-o 🙂

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

