Duct Tape. I feel like McGyver. Check out my fancy tie.

Come on we all love duct tape.  It is one of the handiest things ever.  If you don’t have a roll in your tool box or in the back of your car you probably should.  But what do you do when a bunch of teenagers say they want to make something made totally out of duct tape?  Wallets? Book covers?  Flowers?

Nope. Nope. And Nope.  We decided to make ties.  That’s right so we could look good for church on Sunday.

Sweet right?  I was impressed myself.  It wasn’t even that hard.

What you need.

  • Duct Tape
  • Scissors
  • Old Ties

Simple right.  All you need to do is lay a tie down to get two strips of duct tape approximately the same length as the tie.  This is the hardest part.  Take one strip and place it on top of the other strip (Putting the two sticky sides together.)  That will give you the general shape of your tie.  A really skinny tie.  You can expand it out using the same strategy.  The strips don’t need to be as long but you can squeeze your original strip in between your two new strips.

Once you get the right length and thickness use you scissors to cut it to look just like a tie.  (Some tried to use a marker to mark it but I thought doing it by eye was the easiest.  Worst cast if you cut it wrong add another piece of duct tape.  I even added a piece in the back to hold the back piece in place.

I only ran into 2 problems.

  1. It isn’t the easiest thing to tie.  Duct Tape doesn’t really slide.  I did add some tape to the back end to give it some strength.
  2. The boys liked my old ugly ties just as much if not more than the duct tape ties.
About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Duct Tape. I feel like McGyver. Check out my fancy tie.

  1. The Blackheart Poetess says:

    I just watched the Duct Tape Island Mythbusters episode and I have to say this is AWESOME! You did a great job. 🙂

    Like

  2. clraven says:

    OMG! We are in complete awe of your duct tape tie. We want one! Kidnapper chic at its best!

    Like

  3. Aww a DIY tie! That’s awesome… and I do like it!

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

