Am I a hoarder? Does it hurt to give? Or make you feel better?

I know that hoarder shows are all sorts of popular. I could never live like that but I certainly keep certain things in a hording type of way. Come on we all do it.  We call it collecting but it is really just hording.  What exactly am I talking about? Books.

Since about the age of 15 I have been a voracious reader.  It all started with Louis L’Amour. The great westerns.  From there I expanded not only the genres I read but the books I owned.  Then I married another heavy ready with different tastes.  My large book collection suddenly became a huge book collection.

What do you do with a thousands of books? We decided to use some of the money we got as wedding gifts and bought shelves.  Our entire front room is lined with shelves.  It was amazing how fast they filled up.  Then we had a daughter and since my wife teaches first grade access to the scholastic book orders.

Now to the giving part.  My wife’s cousin is doing his Eagle Scout project and collecting books to donate to a local library. After we heard this my wife and I sat down and decided we needed to thin out some of our books.  Over a couple of days I started pulling books of my shelf that I felt I didn’t like or would never read again.

Yeah I started to get rid of my book.  I am less of a hoarder.  Still I consider myself a generous person.  I am a giver.  I have plenty of books on my shelves that I wont read again.  Why not start another pile.  Make it bigger. Give until it hurts.

Pile number 2.  That’s three separate stacks of books.  Certainly cleared off some shelves.  I am such a giver.  Aren’t you proud?

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Am I a hoarder? Does it hurt to give? Or make you feel better?

  1. Theo Black says:

    I have a hard time throwing away books. I still havemost of my freshman textbooks.

    Like

  2. clraven says:

    we are very proud of you for giving away all those books. We’ve got so many that what we now do, is after we’ve read a book, if we didn’t like it, it goes into a big crate at the bottom of the wardrobe to either go to a car boot sale or a charity shop. We once sent two big envelopes of books to Afghanistan for the soldiers. Cost us £40 in postage 😀 But it was for a good cause so we didn’t mind.

    Like

  3. Anya Breton says:

    *claps in a circle* I’m giving you a round of applause. That’s one heck of a stack! Bravo!

    Like

  4. hoardnot says:

    Never stupid. I post about this and I can tell you from experience that you are getting out of the disposophobia stage of hoarding. Well done.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

