What songs would you choose? I will give you my humble opinion.

The other night I went to a fun show.  Had some family performing.  At first I wasn’t looking forward to it.  Okay I was semi-looking forward to it but I thought there was no chance my 3 year old would sit through.

I was told it would be free, in a church, and my Uncle-in-Law was playing Teyve.  So I was thinking some community performance of FIddler on the Roof.  That’s not what I got.  I got a variety of songs.

  1. Music Man – Wells Fargo Wagon
  2. Showboat – Make Believe
  3. West Side Story – I Feel Pretty
  4. My Fair Lady – Loverly
  5. Annie – Maybe/Hard Knock Life
  6. Man of LaMancha – The Impossible Dream
  7. Sound of Music – Waltz/So Long Farewell?Edelweiss
  8. Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat  – Close Every Door/Go Go Go Joseph
  9. Les Miserable – Do You Hear the People Sing / On My Own
  10. Mary Poppins – Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
  11. Fiddler on the Roof – Chava Ballet Sequence
  12. Tangled – When Will my Life Begin
  13. Newsies – Seize the Day
  14. Music Man – Lida Rose/Pick a Little/Good Night Ladies
  15. Seven Bride for Seven Brothers – Barnraising
  16. Wicked – For Good
  17. Oklahoma – Oklahoma

So there you go that was the line up.  It was quite the performance and also very enjoyable.  The cast was huge.  My daughter was even entertained quite a bit of the time.  She really liked Mary Poppins, Annie, and the Tangled numbers.

Still there were some music choices that I was not sure about.  I don’t know how it was all chosen.  I am sure there was some we need a number here during this costume change.  Still so much Music Man and no 76 trombones? or even Ya Got Trouble?

I am no expert or even a cultured theater goer but I figured I would mention some songs I would choose if I was participating.  Rules

  •  It is in a church so the song must be clean
  • Looks like they are all Broadway or Disney
  • To a lesser extent they should be able to have several people in it (the Tangled performance had at least a dozen girls singing it)
  1. Pete’s Dragon – I Saw a Dragon or Bill of Sale
  2. King and I – Shall we Dance.
  3. Guys and Dolls – Sit Down your Rocking the Boat
  4. Little Shop of Horrors – Skid Row
  5. My Daughter would say some Beauty and the Beast or Little Mermaid

That was actually harder that I thought. Wanted to say Grease but figured that’s not the cleanest.  Or Paint Your Wagon.  Feel free to tell me what I am missing.  I know there is no Phantom, Cats or Lion King.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What songs would you choose? I will give you my humble opinion.

  1. clraven says:

    we only know Rocky Horror and that’s not exactly clean 😀

    Like

  2. rofl @ Rocky Horror.

    Er, mine would be:
    – Jungle Book (anything from the Jungle Book) but specifically – I wanna be like you
    – All of the Little Mermaid 😀
    – Sound of Music – 16 going on 17
    – Anything from Moulin Rouge (possibly not good for family oriented shows)
    – Tell me on a Sunday – Tell me on a Sunday (Lloyd Webber)

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

