Top 5 Current shows – If you trust my opinion they are the ones worth watching!!

Do I watch too much TV?  Maybe.

Do I like challenges?  For sure.

So when I get a challenge to write a blog about the best 5 shows on television now will I do it?  You bet your bottom dollar I will.

1. Castle

This is a superb show.  It has it all.  Drama.  Humor.  Romance?  I was going to give this show a chance no matter because Nathan Fillion is in it.  Nathan (aka Captain Malcolm Reynolds from Firefly a show that got cancelled way to early) makes this show.  He brings the humor in his facial expressions alone let alone his snarky comments.  Cop drama with plenty of humor.  Can’t go wrong.

One last thing.  There are real books based on this tv show (Castle is a writer shadowing a cop for research. These are the books Castle supposedly wrote.).  I have them all and have read them.

2. Psych

No all my shows aren’t going to be funny cop dramas.  Just the top two.  If you watch the Mentalist and not Psych you are crazy.  Psych is one of the funniest shows on tv today. How can you not like a detective agency based around a fake psychic? Shawn and Gus have more chemistry together than just about anyone else on tv (couples included – the ultimate bromance).

3. Big Bang Theory

High brow geek humor.  If you have any kind of geek in you this show is the one to watch.  They can make fun of geeks as well.  Jim Parsons as Sheldon Cooper is the most interesting person on television.  He is also the most brilliant (well he is if you ask him.).  I about fell over laughing so hard when Sheldon received a signed napkin with Leonard Nimoy (that had Spock DNA on it) as a gift.

4. Cougar Town

We DVR ed a show that was on right before Cougar Town.  So every time we watched that show we would get the first 2 minutes of Cougar Town.  Those first 2 minutes were hilarious. It took us forever to start watching it but when we did we were hooked.  I know initially it looks (and sounds) like Desperate House but think of it more of Friends.  Fun interaction and humorous situations.  Wonderful wonderful show.

5. Big Brother

I had to put a reality show on here.  I love reality tv.  Okay maybe more in the past than in the present.  Reality shows have lost some of their shine.  Still Big Brother is the show that gets me through the summer.  Do you know that I even considered applying for the show?  I did.  I filled out the huge application form but never got around to the video tape entry.  Hard to think you can committee to 3 months away from the real world.

My father-in-law even joked about going on the show with me. No one would have expected we even knew each other. We could have manipulated the whole house. Yes that is what this show is about.  Mind games and manipulation.  I would never go on one of the shows where the contestants starve or freeze to death. This one is all about mental toughness. I am sure I could dominate this show. Or at least be super entertaining.

There you go.  Top 5 current shows.  Watch them.  Seriously. Do it.  If you have suggestions for me feel free to leave a comment.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 5 Current shows – If you trust my opinion they are the ones worth watching!!

  1. clraven says:

    Admit it, you only watch Castle ‘cos of your man crush on Nathan Fillion (yes we remembered) 😀 We love The Mentalist but have never heard of Psych. And we LOVE Cougar Town! It is brilliant. And we will admit to watching Big Brother and getting hooked on it.

    Like

    • Well I don’t wave at Nathan when he comes on the screen if thats what you mean.

      Ohh you need to watch Psych. It is a similar story line to the Mentalist but much much much funnier. Did I mention it was funny?

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Top 5 TV Shows (Spring 2012 edition) | Anya Breton

  3. Anya Breton says:

    Wow! I’ve never watched a single episode of ANY of these! Will have to consider them if I ever get through my TBW pile (that’s to be watched lol)

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

