Camping with David & Goliath

I posted in my last blog about the story of David and Goliath and how we all face Goliaths every day. The reasons I was thinking about this is because for the last few days I was up camping with a bunch of young men and the theme of our camp was “David vs. Goliath.” That leaves the big question as how to have activities that will keep a 16 to 18-year-olds interested but still getting the point across.

The first thing we did was make a shepherds sling. Kind of like the actual David might use.

This one is mine. Okay maybe not just like David’s but pretty cool and perfect for a tennis ball. I found out how to do it here.http://slinging.org/index.php?page=woven-pouch-sling—colin-philips . It took us like an hour for each boy to make one.

Hitting something with a tennis ball is not easy. We took a round cookie sheet and hung it up where Goliaths head would be and tried to hit it. I am not sure I ever got close. Even though I didn’t get close it was very fun.

I will neither admit or deny there was some tennis ball wars and I cannot confirm that anyone got hit. But I can confirm fun was had by all.

Day 2 we moved to a more modern weapon. I got a bunch of sling shots for the young men to use.

To connect this with our theme I got a few more cookie sheets and some sharpies and handed them out to the young men. On the cookie sheets each young man wrote some of his Goliaths that he was dealing with. After they had done that we went out to a secluded area and hung up the Goliath cookie sheets.

With it all set I pulled out a box of paint balls and let each young men fire as often as he wanted at his or others targets. Let me tell you we pounded those Goliaths. They were covered by paint balls. We used almost 1000 rounds.

It was very fun and I am pretty sure the point got across of being able to overcome their own personal Goliaths.

We didn’t just go around shooting things but these two activities really brough a message I hope these young men can take with them. They also got to see some amazing country and a few animals. Deer, elk, and even a moose. They had plenty to eat and time to bond together.

Hopefully it helps them overcome their Goliaths.

 

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

