What are your go to books??

We were having a discussion the other day of what are the books that you would loan to people over and over again. It was actually a very interesting conversation. But it got me thinking about what I would recommend more often then not.

Of course my wifes list of go to books was very different from mine. Why?? Because when someone comes to me and asks for a book recommendation they are looking for something very different. Most people who come asking me for a book recommendation are looking for something with more action that romance and more violence than warm fuzzies.

1) “Wizards First Rule” by Terry Goodkind book one of the “Sword of Truth” series.

I just finished this book again and it is still awesome. This book is so good they had the “Legend of the Seeker” TV series based on it. Unfortunately that only lasted for 2 seasons. Though that was short lived this book series is 12 books long with a brand new prequel. Not only is this a great series but it gives you many many hours of wonderful reading.

2) “Mistborn: The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson book one of the “Mistborn” series.

The reason I love this book is the uniqueness of the magic system in this book. Just talking about it makes me want to pick it up and read this series. It has a little bit of an “Oceans 11” feel to it. Well “Oceans 11” way before they were even born. Brandon Sanderson is one of my all time favorite writers and it was this book that started it all for me.

3) “Monster Hunter International” by Larry Correia book one of the “MHI #1” series.

I have just recently found this series and love it. Part of the reason may be because the main character is (at the beginning) an accountant. Being an accountant myself made this instantly appeal to me. Early on his boss turns into a werewolf and tries to kill him. This should appeal to the rest of the people wanting to read this book. Guns vs the Supernatural. Awesome book and series.

There you go my 3 go to books. As you can see they are all series and I tend to think the series is the way to go when suggesting a book. Why? So they have more to read than just the one book.

Trust me these books rock. Read them. Also what are your go to books?? Seriously I am interested.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are your go to books??

  1. C L Raven says:

    ooh it’s a tough choice. We’re never usually asked for book recommendations. We’ve always loved Dean Koontz ’til he started getting a bit preachy. The Twits by Roald Dahl is one of our absolute favourites, but it’s a kid’s book. It would have to depend on who’s doing the asking. This needs more thought!

    Like

  2. Pingback: What are your go to books? Young Adult Version!! | Ryan James Burt

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

