What are your go to books? Young Adult Version!!

A little while back I wrote a blog post about the books I love to recommend to people.  The problem was those were all adult oriented books and I realized I am often asked to recommend books for young adults.  Not only young adults but mainly the male version of young adult.

I am not going with the obvious recommendations. Harry Potter should be read by everyone. I figure if you haven’t read Harry Potter then it is by choice not because you haven’t heard about it. You might say the same thing about “The Hunger Games”. Although this book isn’t as universal as Harry Potter.  You might want your kid to be a little more mature when reading this book.

1) Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians (Alcatraz #1) by Brandon Sanderson – If you read my previous blog you saw that Brandon Sanderson was on there too. I love this series.  Alcatraz has an odd super power. As does most of his family and they have to save the world from those Evil Librarians. Mr. Sanderson does break the fourth wall in this book which I found quite entertaining.

2) The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles #1) by Cinda Williams Chima – This story follows 16 year old Jack who finds a new found strength that leads him to becoming a Warrior. With that he learns there is a whole other world out there dealing with magic and politics that he must deal with.

3) The Journal of Curious Letters (The 13th Reality #1) by James Dashner – It took me the longest time to buy this book.  I looked at it over and over again but when I did buy it (and read it) I was so glad I did.  Imagine a world full of Alternate realities. Now imagine there are a bunch of events happening that can destroy all those realities.

4) The Merchant of Death (Pendragon #1) by D.J. MacHale – Just reading the first two chapters of this book I was hooked. Bobby Pendragon gets dragged into the middle of an immense, inter-dimensional conflict.

5) Slathbog’s Gold (Adventurers Wanted #1) by M.L. Forman – This was one of the best YA books I have found in a while. No one notices a sign “Adventurers Wanted” but Alex Taylor. When he goes in to apply he finds himself in a different world with dragons and treasure.

Honorable mentions

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth

Malice (Malice #1) by Chris Wooding

Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod #1) by Heather Brewer

Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1) by Anthony Horowitz

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are your go to books? Young Adult Version!!

  1. The books that more or less introduced me to fantasy were the Chronicles of Prydain which I highly recommend. I still go back to it from time to time for the classic coming of age story.

    Like

  2. For guys: Swim the Fly and Beat the Band by Don Calame, Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos, and Au Revior, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schrieber. For girls: Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater and Beauty Queens by Libba Bray.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

