Weird Volunteer Oppertunity.

There is a brand new LDS Temple coming to Brigham City and everyone is excited. I know I am. Part of the excitement is the open house and the chance for everyone to go inside. My daughter has begging to go inside the entire construction. She has already gone through the tour twice.

Part of having such a big open house (they expect over 300,000 people to go through in a month) is needing lots of volunteers. Being a nice guy I volunteered. My wife and I went and got assigned one of the oddest volunteer situation I have experienced.

Let me give you some background. There is not a lot of parking around the temple so people are being bused in from other areas. To get from the bus parking to the temple you have to cross railroad tracks. What’s the big deal about going over train tracks? For some reason in our little town the train loves to pull right across the main road and back up and pull forward not letting anyone pass. Annoying right?

Well my volunteer responsibility was to take my wife, our car, and find a spot near the train tracks. We were handed a walkie-talkie and if a train did come and decided to do the super annoying back and forth thing to report it. Our shift was from 5 to 10. Do you know how many trains went by in that 5 hour shift? ONE. That’s right just 1 and it was cruising down the tracks with no back and forth. (Although I still reported it because I wanted to use the walkie-talkie and it was the first train in 4 hours).

Other than that 2 minutes of excitement with the train going by the other 4 hours and 58 minutes was spent with my lovely wife talking. It was a great date actually.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weird Volunteer Oppertunity.

  1. clraven says:

    wow that is weird. Good on you for volunteering. Glad you got to use the walkie talkie, even if nothing happened. Please say you had a code name! And code words. We’ve got kids walkie talkies and sometimes we’re able to pick up the motorbike instructors that ride past our street. It’s bizarre 😀

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

