Going on a Cruise with a 3 year old. Part 1

I have never been on a cruise before so this was a first time experience for me. I was super excited though always wanting to go on one but I didn’t know what to expect. Let me tell you about it.

First part – Arrival in Long Beach, CA

We drove to the port so we parked in the Carnival parking garage. The parking rate was $17 dollars a day. 4 days x $17 = $68. But it was right next to the Carnival check-in. Being right next door was easy. With your travel documents you printed out at home were some luggage tags. All you had to do was bring your tagged luggage down to one of the porters and BLAMO it would end up next to your room some hours later.

Now you only have some carry on luggage you head over to the Carnival check in line. Now this is a huge boat (some 2,600 passengers) and most checking in during a narrow window. There were a lot of people checking in but the line moved surprisingly quickly. We brought a stroller with us and our daughter (who is 3) stayed in there for most of the time.

Now we are checked in and ready to head onto the boat (or maybe I should call it a ship. I am not sure what the naval etiquette is) the only problem is the gang way over to the boat is on the 7th floor. Walking across it was a little bit (okay a lot of bit) scary. Sure it was a solid and secure steel bridge but it certainly gave me the heebbie jeebies.

Once we got to the other side though we were on our cruise.  Sure it was still tied to the dock but our vacation was beginning. We checked out the room. Tiny but what do you expect from a cruise ship right?

What did my daughter want to do first?  Eat of course. Her main goal to do aboard the cruise ship was to eat as much ice cream as possible. We zoom up to the burger and hot dog buffet line and start to chow down. Eating is one of the greatest things about a cruise. One of my wifes main goal was to eat pizza at 3:00 a.m. (which I think she never actually accomplished).

It does take a little bit for the luggage to get to the room but we knew this beforehand and put my daughter’s swim trunks into the carry on. We threw it on and ran up to the kid slide and splash pad. Full of ice cream she ran around in circles loving it.  Our vacation was off to an excellent start.

to be continued…

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

