Nothing like feeling the fool. Call me Mr. Fool!!

Burnt Bacon 3

Did you ever have one of those days where you do something that makes you feel stupid and it escalates to something else to make you feel even worse? That was my night tonight.

If you know me you know that I love bacon. I mean LOVE BACON!! I was trying a recipe for twisted bacon I found on Pinterest and got distracted by my daughter. We were playing play dough and the bacon was in the oven crisping.

I make my way to the oven and know I am in trouble. I open the oven and smoke comes pouring out. The room fills up with smoke and my bacon is ruined. Level of stupidity number one.

Level of stupidity number 2 the smoke alarm goes off of course. Beep beep beep beep. My daughter is having a good old time waving her little towel around to get the smoke away from the alarm. I open the front door even though it is windy and raining outside and the smoke starts to flow out of the house. Crisis averted.

Level of feeling stupid number 3. A bird comes flying in through the open front door. That’s right through the wind and the rain a little bird flies through the open door. The girls is in the house start to scream and giggle. More screaming than giggling.

The bird flies up to the Christmas tree and lands on the star. Would have made for a funny image if I didn’t feel stupid already. Needless to say I got it out of the house along with the smoke. But the bacon was burnt and I still feel stupid.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nothing like feeling the fool. Call me Mr. Fool!!

  1. This is great! I’m going to be laughing for hours from this story- thank you! And don’t feel stupid. I’ve started a fire in my oven before…not good. Love that the bird took to the tree.

    Like

  2. clraven says:

    LOAO! This is brilliant! Glad we’re not the only ones who set off smoke alarms. The bird on the Christmas tree just completes the story πŸ˜€

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

