I did it. Wish me luck. I will need it.

abna_900x120__V192571703_Today I entered the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. I was worried for a little bit when I couldn’t get my entry to work (apparently I needed to use Chrome vs Explorer – silly me) but it is now in.

I could be the winner of One Grand Prize winner will receive a publishing contract with an advance of $50,000 or one of four First Prize winners will each receive a publishing contract with an advance of $15,000. I am not expecting to win but I wanted to start getting some of my stuff out there. Have other people look at it. Good step.

The contest asks for a “pitch”. A 300 word description of the book. Kind of a back of the book blurb. I thought I would share that with you. Wish me luck!!

Real Reality by Ryan Burt

The smartest scientists in the world created a stable atmosphere on the moon but also destroyed what was left of the earth’s environment. This new paradise becomes the home for richest of the rich while the rest of humanity suffers and dies in chaos. If that wasn’t bad enough, the survivors become the center of the moon’s entertainment.

Using old satellites and new scoreboards, the elite manipulate and push rival gangs into fighting each other for ratings. Seventeen-year-old Jeremy survives the massacre of his entire gang and is left alone and defeated. That is until he meets Sarah, the daughter of one of the earth destroying scientists. She tells him about a wild plan to find her dad and save the world. Desperate for human contact Jeremy goes along with her craziness.

To save the world Jeremy and Sarah need to pass through several violent gangs’ territories, find her dad’s secret lab, and avoid a half monster/half machine. If they somehow succeed in doing all of that then there is only one last giant obstacle. For the grand finale, the privileged moon audience runs ‘The Games’ where the lucky winner wins a trip to the moon and a life of luxury there.

Somehow facing these impossible odds Jeremy finds the time to fall for Sarah. As friendship turns to love, Jeremy vows to do everything he can to help her find her dad and save the world. Help his newfound love or die trying.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I did it. Wish me luck. I will need it.

  1. Wendy Knight says:

    That sounds incredible! Good luck – but I don’t think you’ll need it

    Like

  2. jamieayres says:

    Good for you . . . it’s time to put yourself, and your amazing story, out there for the world to see:-)

    Like

  3. Nice blurb 🙂 Good Luck!

    Like

  4. Good luck! I’m so excited that you entered your book! The blurb sounds amazing. Best of luck:)

    Like

  5. Wow that’s so exciting! Good luck 🙂

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

