Pinewood Derby

20130123-090453.jpg

When you have a daughter there are certain things you expect you might miss out on. Even though you expect to miss things on occasion good luck shines down on you. Good luck shined down on me this week.

I got to participate in the scouts Pinewood Derby. I know that sounds unusual for someone with a 4 year old girl. Luckily my wife is a Webelo leader.

I think back when I was a kid and Pinewood Derbies were all the rage. The problem was that the winner of my youth races had a car that looked like it was made by the dad.

Not wanting to be that dad and knowing although my daughter likes to win she can handle losing we went to work. That being said we crafted our cars. I trimmed some of the wood on my daughters car to give it shape and then she did the rest. Pretty impressive right. Not as impressive as my gold hog but still impressive. We didn’t win but we certainly had fun.

20130123-091213.jpg

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pinewood Derby

  1. clraven says:

    it’s great that you’re doing that with her. And the car is very impressive.

    Like

  2. jamieayres says:

    My husband builds these cars every year with our daughters for a Chick-Fil-A event:-) Great fun!!

    Like

  3. That sounds like it was amazing fun! Love it!

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

