Sickness running rampant & getting manipulated

20130201-090728.jpg

Our house has been a sick house the last week plus. Probably doesn’t help that my wife teaches grade school and is exposed to everything or that Utah has had some of the worst air quality recently.

It has gotten so bad that my wife is sleeping in a chair the last couple of nights to help her breathe. My daughter being the opportunist she is has taken advantage of this. Playing her sympathy card, she has been sick too, to manipulate dad and spend some time sleeping in her mom’s spot.

Last night she climbs into bed and is having a fitful night. Around three O’clock this morning she rolls over. “Dad hold my hand.”

I know what you are thinking. That is adorable. I was thinking it too. That is until I grabbed her and and felt how hot it really was. Blistering hot (not take her to the Emergency Room hot but hot). There I am holding this beautiful little girls burning hand and feeling somewhat useless.

“Dad can I have some chocolate milk?” She asks in a half asleep voice. Of course she can. It will give me something to do. I can help. I jump up and get her some chocolate milk (and some kids ibuprofen) and when I get back to the bed that little cutie is in MY SPOT.

“I want to sleep here now.” She says with a mischievous smile. Ahh the things we do for the ones we love. Luckily after some chocolate milk and some ibuprofen she went back to sleep in 20 minutes. She also wanted to hold my hand for the entire 20 minutes.

Love that little girl.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sickness running rampant & getting manipulated

  1. TJ says:

    Awww…sorry everyone is sick, but that was a cute story. Your daughter is a lucky little girl to have such a caring family!

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

