On it’s last legs – Time to shoot it in the head?

destroyed-laptop-flickr-rust_bucket

Our computer is on it’s last legs. It’s not that old but it is slower than an old person in the fast lane. With that being the case I have started to prepare for the worse.

No not save money. Silly people. I have to save my files. The problem is I am a little paranoid about it. I am afraid to lose stuff. There is important information, pictures, and such out there. I need to protect it. The memories of my wedding or the birth of my child.

I need to make some plans. I need to start migrating some information. Burn some DVD’s and move to an external hard drive. That should be enough right. Should I be more paranoid? Less?

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On it’s last legs – Time to shoot it in the head?

  1. TJ says:

    After having two computer crashes where I HADN’T backed things up properly (you’d think I’d have learned after the first), I don’t think you can BE too paranoid. Starting using a Click Free (sp?) backup device with an external hard drive. So simple you wouldn’t believe it. Lost another computer to a virus last year. Was terrified the restore to the new computer wouldn’t work, but it went so smoothly! Had it not, and I’d lost about 20,000 photos, I would have lost my mind. Start backing up the important stuff – now! I do back up photos in two different places now, though…they’re too important to me. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

