There are days when you feel like an idiot.

Car in a Hole

Okay I need to mention two bits of background to tell you the story.

1) My daughter has been sick lately with the croup. It hasn’t been super bad but she hasn’t had the healthiest of winter

2) I had part of my water main break so I had to dig up a big area in my cul-de-sac to get to the pipes. We filled it back in but the dirt around it is very soft.

My sick daughter comes up to me and begs me to go for a drive. The only problem is she wants to go for a drive in a two-seater car. “Honey we can’t go in the little car.”

“How about we just drive around in circles?” Which is actually a good solution to the problem. Being the push over of a dad that I am I go with it. We both jump into the car and start doing laps around the cul-de-sac.

If you know my daughter at all she rarely if every holds still. Needless to say she was a whirling dervish of distractions. She can’t take all the blame because I wasn’t paying enough attention and ended up with my front tire in the soft dirt.

My car wasn’t tilled as much as the picture above but the back passenger tire was at least a foot in the air. Crazy. After calling myself stupid for the next few minutes I had my wife pull me out with her car. Nothing bad happened to either car but every time I think about it I can’t help but feel like an idiot. A lucky idiot. A lucky stupid idiot.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

