Livining in the Country – Got to love it!

Country BoyThe other day I had John Denver’s “Thank God I am a Country Boy” stuck in my head. Seriously it was repeated again and again. Why you might ask? Let me tell you.

My wife thought there was another mouse in the house. If you know my wife that is a big deal. Big enough she went out and bought traps she could set herself. The only problem is I could find no evidence of a mouse. I looked around and set traps but nothing. Did I think my wife was going crazy when I came home and she was up on the counter with my daughter looking for the mouse? No. At least not super crazy.

Then I heard the noise my wife was associating with a mouse. Being the brilliant and good looking man I am I knew exactly what it was. There were birds trying to make our nest in the dryers exhaust. Some chicken wire and all is better.

I know what your thinking. That doesn’t only happen in the country. Try this on for size. I was getting ready for work and there was a loud knock on my door. I answer the door and standing there is a police officer. This might be normal for a city person but not so much for this country boy but when the police officer asked me his question it was pure country.

“Excuse me sir this morning a van hit a deer out front and they think it might be injured in your back yard. Do you mind if I go back there and check it out.” That was nice of him to ask. I imagine if he found it too injured he would have had to put it down and a gun shot in my back yard would have certainly surprised me. Love the country.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Livining in the Country – Got to love it!

  1. I love it! I grew up a Colorado Mountain girl, so I totally get it. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

