Harry Potter done – Goal made – Mission accomplished

2015/01/img_0707.jpg

At my daughter’s elementary school they had a reading challenge. If the student read 1000 minutes in 2 weeks they could get their name in the paper. Well last night we made the 1000 minutes.

No my daughter did not read 1000 minutes in but you can count minutes being read to. As you know we have been reading Harry Potter. We almost finished last night but my little girl fell asleep right when (spoilers) Ron and Herminie came to visit Harry in the hospital after his victory over Voldomort. I thought about reading the last few minutes to my sleeping daughter just so we could say we finished. I resisted.

The first words out of my daughters mouth this morning. “Dad did we finish last night?”

“We didn’t sweetie but we are close.” I say figuring we would finish right after school.

“Can we please read it now?” Well of course we can.

So this morning was spent reading about Gryffindor getting extra house points and winning the house cup. It also means tonight will be a movie night. That’s right we will be watching Harry Potter and the Sorcerers stone tonight.

I love my family. Harry Potter book is done, 1000 minutes read, and most importantly another Harry Potter fan in da house.

About ryanjamesburt

I am a father, husband, accountant, and want to be writer. I try to stay busy so why not keep a blog. I can talk about what is on my mind and maybe entertain some people in the process.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harry Potter done – Goal made – Mission accomplished

  1. Love this! I started my daughter off young with Harry Potter, too. We started out with me reading the first book to her. By the time the last book came out, she begged me to take her to the bookstore at midnight to buy it and she started reading it on the way home. I was so proud. 🙂 Enjoy movie night!

    Like

  2. I am hoping by the time we get to the end she will be reading more. At the moment she only knows a bunch of sight words. Although we did read for a while where she would read every word she recognized. Slow going but helpful I am sure. We will see how soon she starts begging for “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets”.

    Like

Feel free to share. Even if what I said is stupid.

